Site Map
Contact me


I have been Itilized
I have successfully passed my ITIL V3 Foundations Certification !

ITIL is a framework which allows IT Managers to standardize the IT processes which aim at satisfying the demand of their system's customers and/or end-users.

In order to meet customer's needs, ITIL organises the lifecycle of IT Services which are delivered by IT.

The IT department can supply several types of "services", for instance :
  • Applications (SAP, CRM, Document Management)
  • Purchasing of IT material (PCs, printers...)
  • Help Desk, Call Center
  • Internet Services (Home Banking system for a bank for instance)
  • Hardware Installation
  • Printing
  • ...
ITIL gives guidelines on how to organize the professional delivery of those "IT services".

ITIL V3' service life cycle defines 5 "steps":
  • Service Strategy : it defines which services the IT department should provide
  • Service Design : it defines what the delivered services are and how they are realized
  • Service Transition : it determines how a designed service is put into production
  • Service Operation : it describes how services have to be run in production (according to their specifications and their Service Level Agreements)
  • Continual Improvement : a set of processes to improve the life cycle realization

IT jfdeclercq Management News SOA

Last edited on Monday, August 18, 2008 at 13:42:01 pm.